Read credit card using Samsung Galaxy S 3


I have been working NFC controller for awhile.
But I didn’t have it in my personal phone until last week when I upgraded from Galaxy S2 to S3, which has NFC.
I was like a little kid, going around find tags & credit cards to read.
Yes, credit card. “Chip and Pin” credit card to be exact, not US mag stripe credit card (unless you have Chase Blink or Amex card).

I found 2 apps on Google Play enabling me to read “Chip and Pin” credit card. One of them is Electronic Pickpocket RFID.
This app will not help thieves steal. This app only shows part of your account number as a precaution.
(The other one is very technical & hard to read, so I don’t want to mention it here.)

Here is my experience:
– Very close range !!! (< 1 inches). Almost touching the card.
– Need few seconds to read the card.
– Take several tries to get a good read (due to antenna issue of S3 ?)

Given the limitations above, so your credit card is still safe from consumer NFC phone.

Read credit card using Samsung Galaxy S 3

Leave a Reply

